About

Energy Alabama is a nonprofit membership-based organization advocating for clean energy.

Energy Alabama’s Pillars of Impact

Education

Our education efforts are focused on developing and inspiring tomorrow’s leaders through hands-on, interactive sustainable-energy educational activities. Our goal is to improve Alabama’s overall student achievement results in STEM-energy through the implementation of energy education in Alabama K-12 school systems.

Advocacy

Our advocacy efforts are focused on making it easier and more equitable to save energy and install renewable energy. Today many policies and laws block the deployment of sustainable energy in our great state. We think that is wrong. And we intend to change it. People have a right to make improvements to their property and should have a choice about where their energy comes from.

our value
OUR VALUES

Energy Alabama

We place five values at the core of our work. They are:

We believe that governments, utilities, and regulators, as well as our organization and our partners, have a duty to be open, transparent, and truthful with everyone. We pledge to be  accountable, and to hold others accountable, regardless of party affiliation, ideology, or personal connections.

We do not shy away from hard problems, they motivate us. We have big, achievable ideas and we are not afraid to speak truth to power when necessary. 

We believe Alabama is a rich land filled with wonderful people who deserve to have a voice and be heard. Durable progress is made when we join forces with others to affect positive change. 

We believe any changes in energy policy must be rooted in improving economic, social, and environmental benefits for all Alabamians. We acknowledge Alabama’s history with racial discrimination and socioeconomic disparities and believe that clean energy presents a unique opportunity to address and overcome many of our state’s long-standing challenges.

We believe sustainability encompasses more than environmental concerns. Truly sustainable energy policy bolsters family conditions, public health, and economic development while mitigating environmental impacts.

Have you any question ?

Frequently Asked

The Alabama Public Service Commission—also known as the Alabama PSC or simply the PSC—is probably the state agency that you know the least about. But the PSC is one of the most powerful entities in the entire state. Click here to learn more.

Air pollution is the single greatest environmental risk for premature death in the world, contributing to over 5 million deaths every year. Exposure to pollution can trigger numerous health problems including chest pain, coughing, throat irritation, and congestion. Certain pollutants have been linked to increased risk of lung disease, heart disease, cancers, and neurodegenerative diseases.
Sustainable energy is energy that meets the needs of the present generations without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs. Sustainable energy is about finding clean, renewable sources of energy—sources that renew themselves, rather than sources that can be depleted.
The answer is, YES! An unlimited supply of energy shines down on the entire state every day, but we’re not taking advantage of it.

Energy Alabama’s revenue comes from its members, grants, foundations, donors, and its online store. We do not accept any funding from utilities.

FAQ

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Randy Buckner

Chair, Board of Directors
rbuckner@energyalabama.org

Bambi Ingram

Board of Directors
bingram@energyalabama.org

Brandy Lathem

Board of Directors
brandy.lathem@gmail.com

Edwan O’Neal

Board of Directors
edwanoneal@gmail.com

Jonathan Rossow

Board of Directors
jonathan.k.rossow@gmail.com

Richard Williams

Board of Directors
rbwilliams67@gmail.com

STAFF

Sharetá Collins

Marketing and Communications Manager
scollins@energyalabama.org

John Dodd

Policy Manager
jdodd@energyalabama.org

Laurel Esposito

Education Manager
lesposito@energyalabama.org

Sheree Martin

Deputy Director
smartin@energyalabama.org

Daniel Tait

Executive Director
dtait@energyalabama.org

Luci Willis

Engagement Coordinator
lwillis@energyalabama.org

Morgan Byerley

Jihad El-Amin

Scroll to Top