News + Press

New Survey Results: Alabama Voters Want Energy Freedom in a BIG Way

In Alabama, we are all about freedom and market choices, and that’s as true of our energy use as anything else. Alabama Wants Renewable Energy Choices Recent results from a survey of 600 likely Alabama voters show that Alabamians want freedom of choice, a competitive marketplace, and the right and opportunity to choose where their

Read More »

RELEASE: Lawsuit Filed Over TVA’s Millions in Payments to Dirty Energy Lobbyists

For Immediate Release, September 9, 2021 Contact: Howard Crystal, (202) 809-6926, hcrystal@biologicaldiversity.org   KNOXVILLE, Tenn.— The Center for Biological Diversity and allies sued the Tennessee Valley Authority today over millions of dollars in ratepayer money the public utility diverts to anti-environmental advocacy groups like the Edison Electric Institute and the Energy and Wildlife Action Coalition. The lawsuit, filed

Read More »

RELEASE: Scorecard Shows Lack of Transparency, Poor Access to Energy Efficiency, Renewable Energy at Alabama’s Electric Cooperatives

Contact: Daniel Tait, Energy Alabama, (256) 812-1431, dtait@alcse.org Kyle Crider, Alabama Interfaith Power & Light, (205) 306–5811, kyle@thepeoplesjusticecouncil.org Fewer than half of Alabama’s electric cooperatives allow their member-owners to attend board meetings, half do not make their governing documents available online, and none offer community solar programs, according to a new report released today by Energy Alabama and Alabama Interfaith Power & Light. The report

Read More »

Press Release: Energy Department Pushed for Roadmap on TVA’s Transition to 100% Just, Renewable Energy

For Immediate Release, July 29, 2021 Contact: Gaby Sarri-Tobar, Center for Biological Diversity, (202) 594-7271, gsarritobar@biologicaldiversity.org Amy Kelly, Sierra Club, (423) 398-3506, amy.kelly@sierraclub.org Zanagee Artis, Zero Hour, (860) 575-7535, zanagee@thisiszerohour.org Dan Joranko, Tennessee Alliance for Progress, taptenn@gmail.com Energy Department Pushed for Roadmap on TVA’s Transition to 100% Just, Renewable Energy WASHINGTON— More than 80 energy

Read More »

Press Release: TVA Office of Inspector General Urged to Begin Formal Investigation

For Immediate Release, May 26, 2021 Contact: Daniel Tait, Energy Alabama, (256) 812-1431, dtait@alcse.org Gaby Sarri-Tobar, Center for Biological Diversity, (202) 594-7271, gsarritobar@biologicaldiversity.org Brianna Knisley, Appalachian Voices, (937) 725-0645, brianna@appvoices.org Amy Rawe, Southern Alliance for Clean Energy, (865) 235-1448, amyr@cleanenergy.org Documents: TVA Used $3M in Ratepayer Money to Fund Anti-Clean Energy Efforts Office of Inspector General Urged to Begin Formal Investigation KNOXVILLE, Tenn.— Four

Read More »

RELEASE: Clean Energy Advocates Call On TVA to Halt Its Plans for New Gas, Align with Federal Goals

March 16, 2021 Contact: Maggie Shober, Southern Alliance for Clean Energy, maggie@cleanenergy.org, 865-235-1448 Daniel Tait, Energy Alabama, dtait@alcse.org, 256-812-1431 Jonathan Levenshus, Sierra Club, jonathan.levenshus@sierraclub.org, 202-590-0893 Knoxville, Tenn. — Clean energy groups, in public comments submitted on March 13, are calling on the Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA) to halt its plans for a massive build-out of gas-fired power plants that are inconsistent with President Biden’s

Read More »
Scroll to Top